Six Sigma in Healthcare Featured at Harvard Quality Colloquium

Classes Held: Annenberg Hall, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
Colloquium Hotels: The Inn at Harvard and the Harvard Square Hotel, Cambridge, MA
August 24 - 27, 2003
Contact: Paul Tunnecliff
800-684-4549 phone

CAMBRIDGE, MA - HEALTHCARE UPDATE NEWS SERVICE (TM) - JULY 7, 2003 : The Quality Colloquium at Harvard University,, today announced its 2003 program to be held August 24 through 27, 2003 in Cambridge, MA. The Colloquium will feature practical healthcare quality improvement and medical error reduction initiatives for plans and providers and a special patient safety officer training session. Classes will be held in Annenberg Hall on the Harvard University campus in Cambridge, MA. The Colloquium hotels are the Inn at Harvard and the Harvard Square Hotel, Cambridge, MA.


Learn of the role that Six Sigma can play in patient safety initiatives, medical errors reduction and healthcare quality enhancement through the following featured faculty:

  • Denise J. Fiore, Six Sigma Blackbelt, Operations Director of the Department of Laboratory Medicine, Yale New Haven Hospital, New Haven, CT
  • Narendra Kini, MD, MHA, Six Sigma Green Belt, Director, GE Healthcare Leadership Institute, GE Medical Systems Healthcare Services, San Ramon, CA
  • Don Redinius, Managing Partner, Six Sigma Qualtec, Tempe, AZ
  • Donald Walker, Senior VP Process Redesign, McKesson Corporation, San Francisco, CA (Moderator)
  • David Bernard, MD, Chief Medical Director, Montefiore Medical Center and Professor, University of Pennsylvania, New York, NY
  • Troyen Brennan, MD, JD, MPH, Professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA
  • Molly Joel Coye, MD, MPH, Founder and President, Health Technology Center, Former Director, California Department of Health Services and Former New Jersey Commissioner of Health, San Francisco, CA
  • Suzanne Delbanco, Ph.D., Executive Director, The Leapfrog Group, Washington, DC
  • Douglas B. Dotan, President & COO, CRG Medical, Inc., Houston, TX
  • Harvey V. Fineberg, MD, Ph.D., President, Institute of Medicine, The National Academies and Former Provost, Harvard University, Washington DC
  • Frank Federico, RPh, Loss Prevention/Patient Safety Specialist, Risk Management Foundation and Co-Leader, Consensus Group for the Prevention of Medical Errors, Cambridge, MA
  • Allan Frankel, MD, Director of Patient Safety, Partners HealthCare System and Trustee, Massachusetts Coalition for the Prevention of Medical Errors, Boston, MA
  • Frances A. Griffin, RRT, MPA, Director of Patient Safety, and Co-Director of the Patient Safety Domain, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, Boston, MA
  • George C. Halvorson, Chairman and CEO, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc., Co Author, Epidemic of Care: A Call for Safer, Better, and More Accountable Health Care and Former President and CEO of HealthPartners, Oakland, CA
  • Tonya Hongsermeier, MD, MBA, Corporate Manager, Knowledge Management and Clinical Decision Support, Partners Healthcare System, Wellesley, MA
  • George Isham, MD, MS, Medical Director and Chief Health Officer, HealthPartners, Co Author, Epidemic of Care: A Call for Safer, Better, and More Accountable Health Care, Minneapolis, MN
  • Kenneth W. Kizer, MD, MPH, President and CEO, National Quality Forum, Washington, DC
  • Andy Kosseff, MD, Medical Director of System Clinical Improvement, SSM Health Care, St. Louis, MO
  • Delanor Manson RN, BSN, CNA, MA, CPHQ, Senior Consultant, Accreditation and Regulatory Management, Smith Seckman Reid Inc., Nashville, TN
  • Arthur Miller, Esq., Bruce Bromley Professor of Law, Harvard Law School, Cambridge, MA
  • Arnold Milstein, MD, MPH, National Healthcare Thought Leader, Mercer Human Resource Consulting and Medical Director, Pacific Business Group on Health, San Francisco, CA
  • Dennis S. O'Leary, MD, President; Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, Oakbrook Terrace, Il
  • Eric Pan, MD, Senior Analyst, Center for Information Technology Leadership and Adjunct Faculty, Children's Hospital Informatics Program, Wellesley, MA
  • Marcia M. Piotrowski, RN, MSc, Clinical Risk Manager, VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Susan Proulx, PharmD, President, Med-E.R.R.S., Institute for Safe Medication Practices, Huntingdon Valley, PA
  • David Shulkin, MD, President, Patient Safety Officer Society, Chief Medical Officer, Medical College of Pennsylvania Hospital, Chief Quality Officer and Professor and Chairman, Department of Medicine, Drexel University School of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA
  • Robert Stone, Executive Vice President, American Healthways, President, Disease Management Association of America, Nashville, TN
  • Sean Tunis, MD, MSc, Chief Medical Officer and Deputy Director, Office of Clinical Standards and Quality, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Baltimore, MD
  • American College of Medical Quality
  • Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
  • Association of Medical Directors of Information Systems
  • Bridges to Excellence
  • Foundation for Accountability
  • Harvard Health Policy Review
  • Health Affairs
  • Health Technology Center
  • Institute for Safe Medication Practices
  • International Society for Quality in Health Care
  • Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
  • Medical Education Collaborative
  • National Association for Healthcare Quality
  • National Committee for Quality Assurance
  • National Patient Safety Foundation
  • National Quality Forum
  • Patient Safety Institute
  • Patient Safety Officers Society
  • (URAC) American Accreditation HealthCare Commission

For sponsorship and exhibit information contact:
Joni Lipson, Exhibit Manager
Phone: 215-599-6626
Fax: 215-545-8107

For further registration info contact:
Registration Office
National Quality Colloquium
7790 Barberry Ave.
Yucca Valley, CA USA 92284
Phone: 800-684-4549